US lifts ban on 11 countries, begins tougher scrutiny

United States on Monday lifted its ban on refugees from 11 “high-risk” countries.

It, however, stated that citizens seeking to enter the US would come under much tougher scrutiny than in the past.

“It’s critically important that we know who is entering the United States,” said Homeland Security Secretary Kirstjen Nielsen.

“These additional security measures will make it harder for bad actors to exploit our refugee program, and they will ensure we take a more risk-based approach to protecting the homeland.”

The 11 countries, hit with a ban in October in the Trump administration’s revised refugee policy, were not identified officially.

Share this to your friends



Most Popular

To Top
%d bloggers like this: